Television: Why I’m Starting to Like You

Aww television. The mindless box that projects pictures and sounds while we go about our business. For me, it’s a background noise,while i clean the house or I’m on the computer. I usually stick to three channels: History, Food Network and Discovery.

You see, I’m a “reality tv” kinda girl. I love Big Brother, and can’t imagine my summers without it. When “Glass House” came on ABC, I thought: “such a BB rip off”..but I got sucked in.

I love “Survivor”. I always wonder: “do I have what it takes to survive? No, I don’t. But i was sucked in.I have love “American Idol” from the very beginning. With, Randy and his “dawgs:”, to Paula and her “wacky wit”,to Simon with his “honesty”. I turned in every week. Even with Steven, JLo and Randy, I still turned in. But alas, all good things must come to a end, and i see this in Idol’s future. Some of the “new” judges are not up to My Idol standards and I think Idol peaked last year with Philip Phillips winning it all…(note: i picked him from the audtitions,just saying)

While surfing though the guide on my tv on certain nights, I discovered “regular” tv again and I would like to share with you some of the new shows of the fall that I have found.

The New Normal: airs on NBC Tuesdays at 9: this comedy is centered around a gay couple who are having a baby with a surrogate and how the families stay close. The cast includes: Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha(aka: david and bryan),Georiga king, as Goldie, the surrogate with a daughter and a crazy grandmother, played by Ellen Barkin, who I love and is the “new Archie Bunker” of our time. The cast rounds out with BeBe Wood and NeNe Leaks. The whole cast just fits right together and tells the story of their lives and what is a family anyway. They deal with drama and comedy in a way that made me smile.

Go On: airs on NBC on Tuesdays at 9: this comedy stars Mathew Perry, as Ryan King, radio sportscaster, who’s forced to attend a mandatory group therapy to deal with the loss of his wife. Oh Mattew Parry, how I’ve loved you! Since the first time i saw you as a troubled youth on Beverly Hills 90210, and your loveable character of Chandler Bing on friends. But this is a mature Mathew, dealing with a serious loss,but still charming as ever. The rest of the cast is great too. They tear at your heart, while dealing with their losses in each their own way, which is sometimes funny. This is a show to watch.

Guys with Kids: air on NBC Wednesday at 8:30. NBC is on a roll this season. Created by Jimmy Fallon, this show is about 30 something dads, who are still kids at heart, struggling as parents. It reminds me of “friends, but friends with kids”. The cast is relatable to ever parent in the world. The day to day struggles of raising kids in this day and time. The cast includes: Anthony Anderson,Charlie Grady, Zach Gregger, Tempestt Bledsoe and Jamie Lynn Sigler. They are all very likeable and talented. I heard a rumor that NBC was going to pull this show, so I felt it was my duty to write them and tell them to give this show a chance and let others get to love it as much as I did. I also reminded them that “Seinfeld” stunk the first two seasons and look what happend there! It’s worth checking out if you want to laugh.

Revolution: airs on Mondays at 10 on NBC. Our entire life depends on electricity, so what happens one day when the whole world goes dark. This drama is a nail bitting adventure that reminds me alittle of :”Lost” but has flashbacks for you to follow on what happended before the power went out. The journey to find out why and how to fix the problem. The cast includes: Tracy Spiridakos, David Lyons, and Billy Burke, just to name a few. I’m not really a “drama” kinds of person, but this show has me hooked.

Finally, my “soap opera” pick: Nashville: airs on Wednesdays at 10 on ABC. Tells the story of two country music stars: a icon, who’s trying to re-invent herself and a up and coming Diva. This show is filled with all the things that we love in a soap opera: lies, cheating, and country music. Starring Connie Britton as Raynna Jaymes, reining queen of country music and Hayden Panettiere as Juliette Barnes, up and coming diva. 

So there you have it. My picks of the new fall show that i will watch. Don’t worry, I’ll still be watching the train wreck of “honey boo boo” and “married to Jonas” because, after all, I’m a reality tv kind of girl!

 

One thought on “Television: Why I’m Starting to Like You

  1. Pingback: Television: Why I’m Starting to Like You | lwheeler615

Leave a comment